Environmental Award Recipients

Every year, the SCCLCV honors those who are making a positive difference on Santa Clara County's environment.  

Recipients are honored at our yearly Annual Fundraiser and Environmental Awards event.  The SCCLCV typically gives out three to four awards at its annual fundraiser. Awardees have done some outstanding or unique environmentally related work or achievement in Santa Clara County within the past year of the award date.

The public is welcome to nominate candidates for our Environmental Awards.

Congratulations to our 2020 Award Recipients!

Lifetime Achievement

Jean Dresden

Legislator of the Year

Hon. Sergio Jimenez

Environmental Organization of the Year Amah Mutsun Land Trust
Environmentalist of the Year

Richard Tejeda


Past Recipients

Lifetime Achievement Honorees

Cole Wilbur (2019); Rod Diridon Sr. (2018); Barbara Marshman (2018); Senator Dan McCorquodale (2016); U.S. Secretary of Transportation (ret.) Norm Y. Mineta (2015); Senator John Vasconcellos (posthumous) (2014); Don Weden (2013); Mondy Lariz (2012); Dianne McKenna (2011); Eric Carruthers (2009); Mary Davey (2008); Philip and Florence LaRiviere (2007); Peter Szego & Lee Sturtevant (2006); Jeff Oberdorfer (2005); Lois Hogle (2004); Larry Dawson (2003); Jim Compton (2002); Lilian Branon (2001); Bob and Judy Levy (2000); Trixie Johnson (1999); Byron Sher (1997); Alan Cranston (1996)


Legislator of the Year

Supervisor Cindy Chavez (2018); Supervisor David Cortese (2018); State Senator Jim Beall (2018);State Senator Rich Gordon (2016); San Jose Council Member Ash Kalra (2015); Champions of the Silicon Valley Advanced Water Purification Center - Tony Estremera, Jamie Mattehws, and Chuck Reed (2014); Jim Griffith, Mayor, City of Sunnyvale (2013); Ira Ruskin, Assemblymember, 21st District (2010); Chuck Reed, Mayor, City of San Jose (2009); Linda Lezotte, Councilmember, City of San Jose (2006); Joe Simitian, Senator, 11th District (2005); Anna Eshoo, Congresswoman, 18th District (2004); Hon. John Vasconcellos (2003)


Environmentalist of the Year

Raul Lozano (2019); Thang Do (2019); Carl Guardino (2018); Susan Marsland (posthumous) (2015); Danielle and Jed York (2014); Larry Ames (2011); David Kaneda (2009); Ted Smith (2008); Garnetta Annabel (2007); Steve & Michele Kirsh (2006); Gerry Steinberg (2005); Craig Breon (2004); Trish Mulvey (2003); Vickie Moore (1998); Jim Compton, Nonetta Hanko, and Frank Schiavo (1997); Alan Cranston (1996)


Green Business of the Year

Spade & Plow (2019); Tesla (2016); Google (2015); Green Waste/Zanker/ZWEDC (2014); Republic Urban Properties (2013); Recology (2012); Weston Miles Architects (2011); SunPower (2010); Steinberg Architects (2008); Bon Appetite Management Company (2007); Adobe Systems (2006)


Environmental Organization of the Year

San Jose Bike Party (2019); Carbon Free Mountain View (2018); Sunnyvale Cool Environment (2018); Sacred Heart Community Services (2018); CommUniverCity (2013); Coe Park Preservation Fund (2012)


Special Recognition Awards

No on B/ Yes on C Campaign (2018); Bay Area Ridge Trail (2014); Santa Clara County Open Space Authority (2013); Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District (2013)



Submit to DeliciousSubmit to DiggSubmit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to StumbleuponSubmit to TechnoratiSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

Santa Clara County League of Conservation Voters

Copyright © 2014- 2021. All Rights Reserved.